Book Recommendations

So, this is a question for all those out there, mainly in worship arts, but anyone who can offer suggestions! πŸ™‚

I’m trying to expand my resources & knowledge on worship, particularly relating to leading worship & working with worship teams, choirs, musicians, & so forth. Would any of you care to suggest some must-haves for my bookshelf, good resources, good reads in general on such topics…??

(Don’t be afraid to suggest the obvious ones even if you think I already know about them or have read them–it’s good to see others’ confirmation of must-have books as well!)

I’ll soon enter a new chapter of God’s will for my life, & I’m looking to do my part in some of the preparation as well, but want to spend wisely when it comes to books & other resources with the small salary I currently make!

Also, if anyone wants to review books (or a few books at a time with even just a sentence or two about each!) feel free to contact Mandy or I so that we can share this with the other women in worship here.

Thank you all tremendously!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ammeepearl
    Nov 01, 2007 @ 01:43:09

    Extravagent Worship by Darlene Zschech … It totally inspired me …

    Reply

  2. Amanda
    Nov 01, 2007 @ 01:50:11

    I love Extravagant Worship, & also Darlene’s book Kiss of Heaven as well! Great ones! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. ammeepearl
    Nov 01, 2007 @ 15:07:30

    Hey, there’s another book I read, although I have to admit, it challenged me quite a bit, called Prophetic Worship, by Vivien Hibbert. There was alot of good stuff, but, for me, it borderlined on some stuff that I thought was a bit out there. (though I completely believe in the gifts of prophecy etc.) Had some really good points on how to use music (diff. styles) in the same service. I’d like to read Praise Habit by David Crowder …

    Reply

  4. Jan Owen
    Nov 03, 2007 @ 02:44:19

    I love Rory Noland’s books “The Heart of An Artist” (about character) and “Heart of a Worshiping Artist” (about worship). He is a great guy and I’ve used both of these books with my team – easy to understand but not simplistic. These are great teaching tools. I’m in the middle of “Experiential Worship” and “Worship by Sorge”, which is more of a textbook style, but it covers all the bases. “The Air I Breathe” by Louis Giglio is good just on the topic of worship as well.

    This is not a book, but I would highly recommend that you look into attending the Integrity Worship Institute’s core classes in Mobile, Alabama. I’ve done three and they are week long classes that are EXCELLENT – excellent content and excellent teachers along with intensive times together to worship and learn. You can check it out at http://www.integrityworshipinstitute.org. This is the teaching arm of Integrity Music. They aren’t cheap but worth every penny it takes to get you there.

    Reply

  5. Amanda
    Nov 04, 2007 @ 02:17:40

    Jan! Thanks for recommending Rory Noland’s books! I saw these on Amazon the other night & look forward to reading them–of course, I will have to buy them first! πŸ˜€ Anything that says “artist” gets me interested since that’s how I often see myself…. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for all of your recommendations! They’ve been added to my list! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  6. Jan Owen
    Nov 04, 2007 @ 04:14:13

    One reason I so highly recommend Rory’s books is that I have the privelege of being acquainted with him and seeing him walk with God. In light of that, his writings mean even more to me – I can see them in action as we discuss our journeys. Enjoy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

